Página principal

Thursday Thursday Session I 9: 00-10: 45 Cross-Connections in Fiction and Film


Descargar 50.7 Kb.
Fecha de conversión18.07.2016
Tamaño50.7 Kb.
Thursday

Thursday Session I 9:00-10:45



  1. Cross-Connections in Fiction and Film

Chair and Discussant: Elizabeth M. Willingham, Baylor University, Beth_Willingham@baylor.edu

“Shades of Juana la Loca and Faulkner’s ‘Miss Emily’ in Ana García Bergua’s short story ‘Los conservadores’,” Wendell Aycock, Texas Tech University, Wendell.aycock@ttu.edu

“The Unmasking of Don Casmurro by Capitu: Rede Globo’s 2008 Tribute to Brazil’s Machado de Assis,” Jeana Paul-Ureña, Stephen F. Austin State University, jpaulurena@sfasu.edu

“The Chivalric Hero in Mexico’s Golden Age Film,” Elizabeth M. Willingham, Baylor University, Beth_Willingham@baylor.edu

TBA


  1. Survival Strategies of the “Other” Enduring, Adjusting or Contesting

Chair and Discussant: Jonathan Brown, University of Texas at Austin, jcbrown@mail.utexas.edu

“Enduring Change: An Analysis of Indigenous Perspectives in Northwestern Argentina,” Marjorie Snipes, University of West Georgia, msnipes@westga.edu

“Uru-Chipayans of Bolivia Adjusting to Change,” Joe Bastien, University of Texas at Arlington, bastien@uta.edu

“’Please oblige your blacks’: Citizenship, Paternalism, and Class Conflict in cantón Gibraltar, 1838-1839,” Peter Linder, New Mexico Highlands University, linderpeter@nmhu.edu

“Leslie Marmon Silko: Writing Culture Through One's Own Frame of Reference” Pauline Warren, Houston Community College, pauline.warren@hccs.edu


  1. Urbanscapes in the Americas

Chair and Discussant: TBA

“A City that Never Sprawled: Problems of Preservation and Sustainability in Post-Soviet Havana, Cuba,” Paul Niell, University of North Texas, paul.niell@unt.edu

TBA


  1. Miradas de México 1: De la Independencia a la Modernidad

Chair and Discussant: Jorge Alberto Trujillo Bretón, Universidad de Guadalajara, jalberto55@hotmail.com

“Apuntes para la historia del Bicentenario de Independencia: los lectores de los folletos de José Joaquín Fernández de Lizardi,” Yolanda Bache Cortés, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, bache@unam.mx

“Discursos y representaciones acerca de la penitenciaria jalisciense,” Iván Ilich Trujillo García, Universidad de Guadalajara, jalberto55@hotmail.com

“Labor e influencia de un educador porfirista: Fortuné Richaud,” Estela Munguía Escamilla, Insitituto de Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades-BUAP, estelamun@hotmail.com

“Tránsito y concentration Mexicana en Arizona en el siglo XXI,” Laura Carreto Tirado, Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, carreto84@yahoo.com.mx

“Samuel Graham: un joven en una jaula horrible,” Jorge Alberto Trujillo Bretón, Universidad de Guadalajara, jalberto55@hotmail.com


Thursday Session II 11:00-12:45

Business Meeting

La Terrazza

Thursday Session III 12:45-2:15

SCOLAS Luncheon

La Terrazza

Thursday Session III 2:15-4:00


  1. Women’s Bodies, Women’s Narratives

Chair and Discussant: Linda McManness, Baylor University, linda_mcmanness@baylor.edu

“Women’s Bodies in the Fiction of María Cristina Mena and Katherine Anne Porter,” Carolina Mendoza, Idiomas Universidad Autonoma de Baja California Campus Ensenada, Carolina.mendocita@gmail.com

“Más dura que una piedra: The Stories of Women in Guadalupe Loaeza’s Debo luego sufro and Alisa Valdés-Rodríguez The Dirty Girls Social Club,” Linda McManness, Baylor University, linda_mcmanness@baylor.edu

“Y si estuviera desnudo, ¿se fijarían en su rinoceronte? La presencia animal en un cuento de Claudia Hernández,” José Neftalí Recinos, Stephen F. Austin State University, recinosjn@sfasu.edu

TBA


  1. Governing in the Andes: Challenges and Innovations

Chair and Discussant: Peter Linder, New Mexico Highlands University, linderpeter@nmhu.edu

“Policy Innovation at the Local Level: The Conflict between Central Government and Localities in Bolivia,” Annabelle Conroy, University of Central Florida, aconroy@mail.ucf.edu

“A Decade of Democratic Politics in Peru: Populists, Reformists, and the Legacies of Fujimorismo,” Nicholas Vaccaro, Doane College, nick.vacarro@doane.edu

TBA



  1. Distaff Creation in the Cinema of the Americas

Chair and Discussant: Ruth Hidalgo, Arapahoe Community College, ruth.hidalgo@arapahoe.edu

“La literatura de la Revolución Mexicana hecha cine: una nueva perspective femenina,” Edward Hood, Northern Arizona University, Edward.Hood@nau.edu

“Josefina López: Feminist Screenwriter and Playwright,” Ninfa Nik, Texas Women’s University, nnik@twu.edu

TBA


  1. Intersections of Religion and Politics in Latin America

Chair and Discussant: Jose Martinez, The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, jmartinez@umhb.edu

“’Go and Make Disciples of the Nations’: Moravian and Catholic interactions in Nicaragua's Atlantic Coast, 1912-1933,” Kimberly Fabbri, Lehigh University, kaf207@lehigh.edu

“Capital Men: Determining Archbishops in Chile and Argentina,” Elizabeth Wilson, Baylor University, Elizabeth_Wilson1@baylor.edu

“The Cathedral Chapter of Puebla, Mexico and the Mexican American War, 1846 -1848,” Sergio Francisco Rosas Salas, El Colegio de Michoacán, A.C., sergiofrosas@yahoo.com.mx

“’Re-Christianizing’ Guatemalan Society: The Evolution of the Catholic Action Movement in Totonicapán, 1956-1969,” Bonar L. Hernández, blhernand@mail.utexas.edu
Thursday Session IV 4:15-6:00


  1. Contemporary Views of Culture and the City

Chair and Discussant: TBA

“Two Paradigms of Onda / North American Mass Culture Interaction: Parmenides Garcia Saldana and Hector Manjarrez,” Tim Robbins, Drury University, trobbins01@drury.edu

“La ciudad post-ideológica en Scorpio City de Mario Mendoza” Gabriela Miranda-Recinos, Stephen F. Austin State University, mirandag@sfasu.edu

TBA


  1. Imperial Hubris: The Compulsion to Export Values

Chair and Discussant: Richard Chardkoff, University of Louisiana at Monroe, Chardkoff@ulm.edu

“Spearpoint to Empire: Early American Military Expansion in Haiti, 1915-1916,” Vernon Williams, Abilene Christian University, vwilliams@acu.edu

“Failure to Recon,” Edgar Morales, The University of Texas-Pan American, edgar101x@gmail.com

“The Duty of the Revolutionary is to Make the Revolution: Cuba’s Export of Revolution,” Jonathan Brown, University of Texas at Austin, jcbrown@mail.utexas.edu

TBA


  1. Soundtracks from Latin America: Love, Life and Lucha

Chair and Discussant: TBA

“Bolero femenino, poética femenina: Revalorando la historia de un amor,” Juan Carlos Ureña, Stephen F. Austin State University, urenajuan@sfasu.edu

“From Chico to Charly: Protest Music in Brazil and Argentina under the Military Dictatorships,” Victoria Gruzynski, Indiana University, Bloomington, vagruzyn@indiana.edu

“Identidad musical y estructuras de sentimiento: Las batallas en el desierto de José Emilio Pacheco,” Fernando Valerio-Holguin, Colorado State University, fvalerio@mail.colostate.edu

TBA


  1. TBA


Friday

Friday Session I 9:00-10:45



  1. Miradas de México 2: de la revolución a la modernidad

Chair and Discussant: Blanca Esthela Santibánez Tijerina, Instituto de Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades-BUAP, besanti@hotmail.com

“Reflejos revolucionarios en la El Águila y la Serpiente,María del Carmen Griselda Santibáñez Tijerina, Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla tomasyaf@live.com.mx

“La Revolución Mexicana en la obra de Carlos Fuentes,” Ana María Del Gesso Cabrera, Universidad Autónoma de Puebla (BUAP), anadelg2@gmail.com

“Logros y desaciertos de la Revolución en Tlaxcala,” Blanca Esthela Santibánez Tijerina, Instituto de Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades-BUAP, besanti@hotmail.com

“Saldos de la revolución. La situación de las mujeres,” Gloria Arminda Tirado Villegas, Instituto de Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades-BUAP, gtirado51@yahoo.com.mx


  1. Settling for More: Expanding Human Rights in the Americas

Chair and Discussant: Virginia Burnett, University of Texas, Garrard@mail.utexas.edu

“A Framework for Environmental Risk Inequality and Environmental Justice in the Americas,” Leda Barnett, Our Lady of the Lake University, lmbarnett@lake.ollusa.edu

“Cuba’s Ethic of Care and the Future of the Americas,” Doug Morris, Eastern New Mexico University, doug.morris@enmu.edu

“Get Married and Get Equal? LGBT Mexico City and San Francisco Rise Up!” Kelly Hutton, University of New Mexico, kjhutton@unm.edu

TBA


  1. Forging Hispanic Identity in the United States

Chair and Discussant: Paul Hart, Texas State University, ph18@txstate.edu

“Class Politics and Agricultural Labor in the Texas Mexican-American Movement, 1951-1953,” Joseph Orbock Medina, UC Berkeley, orbock@berkeley.edu

“The Education of Puerto Ricans in New York City from 1945-1964: From ‘Problem’ to ‘Aspirante’,” Ashley Taylor, Columbia University, amt2161@columbia.edu

“The Emergence of a Mexican-American Identity in Texas during the 1920s,” Jeffrey Lambert, Lone Star College-Kingwood, Jefferylambert@gmail.com



  1. What Would Adam Smith Do? The Debate over Neo-Liberalism in the Americas

Chair and Discussant: Luis Matias-Cruz, Baylor University, Luis_Matias-Cruz@baylor.edu

“Neoliberalism and its Impact on Chilean Women under Dictatorship and Democracy,” Megan Presley, Baylor University, Megan_Presley@baylor.edu

“Christianity and Capitalism: What Would Jesus Do?,” Susan Hutchinson, Jose Martinez and Christine Nix, The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, susan.hutchinson@umhb.edu, jmartinez@umhb.edu, Christine.nix@umhb.edu

“The Mexican Economy: Preparing for a Post-American World?,” Ashley Davis, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, arhamel@mail.umhb.edu

TBA
Friday Session II 11:00-12:45


  1. The Self and the Other: Intimate and External Viewpoints

Chair and Discussant: Michael Ward, Trinity University, mward@trinity.edu

“(Re)defining the Ecuadoran Women: Female Identity in Aminta Buenaños’s Short-Story Collection Mujeres divinas,” Elizabeth Harsma, Minnesota State University, Mankato, elizabeth.harsma@mnsu.edu

“Seduction and Idolatry in Calderón de la Barca’s La aurora en Copacabana” Sharonah Fredrick, SUNY at Stony Brook, New York, sharazteca@yahoo.com

“Poéticas del exilio en ‘El velorio de mi casa’ de Gonzalo Celorio” José Juan Colín, University of Oklahoma, josejuan@ou.edu



  1. Neoliberalism’s Waves of Creative Destruction: Hanging Ten or Wiping Out?

Chair and Discussant: James Creagan, University of the Incarnate Word, jcreagan@uiwtx.edu

“Transforming Societies by Empowering Individuals,” J. Ulyses Balderas and Rogelio Garcia-Contreras, Sam Houston State University, eco_jub@shsu.edu and University of St. Thomas, rogarcia@stthorn.edu

“Mexico and the Great Recession: So far from God and so Close to the United States,” Norman Caulfield, Fort Hays State University, ncaulfield@fhsu.edu

TBA



  1. Reading Fiction from External Perspectives

Chair and Discussant: Linda McManness, Baylor University, linda_mcmanness@baylor.edu

“Jungle Capitalism in Three Short Stories by Horacio Quiroga,” Allyson Irom, Baylor University, Allyson_Irom@baylor.edu

“La oralidad y la cultura popular en la alta modernidad literaria latinoamericana (1970-1980),” Guillermo Valencia Serna, Tennessee State University, leonvalencias@gmail.com

TBA


  1. Transformations: No More “Other”

Chair and Discussant: Mary Fanelli Ayala, Eastern New Mexico University, mary.ayala@enmu.edu

“Using Empathy to Create Immigration Tolerance among Conservative College Students,” Geni Flores, Eastern New Mexico Universtiy, geni.flores@enmu.edu

“Latinos and Education in Metropolitan Chicago: Current Trends and Call to Action,” Sonia Soltero and Jose Soltero, DePaul University ssoltero@depaul.edu

“Rural and Urban Attitudes toward Immigrants and Immigration,” Theresa Davidson and Carlos Garcia, Samford University, tcdavis@samford.edu and San Jose State University, carlos.e.garcia@sjsu.edu

“Cultural Sensitivity in Early Childhood Education,” Romelia Hurtado de Vivas, Eastern New Mexico University, romelia.hurtadodevivas@enmu.edu
Friday Session III 2:15-4:00


  1. Discovering / Uncovering the Americas

Chair and Discussant: Michael Ward, Trinity University, mward@trinity.edu

“Discovering the Americans in a European World: Nineteenth and Early Twentieth-Century Investigators of Latin America,” Michael Ward, Trinity University, mward@trinity.edu

“Reconstructing Colonial Identity through Gender in Arzán’s Historia de la villa imperial Potosí,” Kate McCarthy-Gilmore, Loras College, kate.mccarthy-gilmore@loras.edu

“El letargo de los mayas en Guatemala,” J. Vitelio Contreras, Eastern New Mexico University, jose.contreras@enmu.edu

TBA


  1. Capitalism’s Costs and Benefits to the Individual

Chair and Discussant: James Creagan, University of the Incarnate Word, jcreagan@uiwtx.edu

“Medio ambiente y desarrollo sustentable en México. El riego con aguas contaminadas en el distrito de Valsequillo, Puebla,” Sandra Rosario Jiménez, El Colegio de Michoacán, A.C., sandraluzrosario@yahoo.com.mx

“Going in order to Stay: Environmental, Economic, and Social Devastation,” Garrett McDowell, Eastern New Mexico University, andrea@gammcdowell.com

“’El Trabajo de la Campsina’ in Haciendas and Ranchos in Nuevo León and Tamaulipas, 1880-1930,” Sonia Hernandez, shernandez11@utpa.edu




  1. Liberation Theology in the Americas: Transnational Perspectives

Chair and Discussant: Mario Garcia, University of California, garcia@history.ucsb.edu

“Literary, Performative, and Cinematic Liberation Theology in the Americas: Martínez, Limón, Leñero, and Mandoki,” Ellen McCracken, University of California, emccr@spansport.ucsb.edu

“Liberation Theology and Migration: Erasing Borders on Land and in Spirit,” Demetria Martínez, demetriajuly@aol.com

“Liberation Correspondent: The Homilies of Moises Sandoval” Mario Garcia, University of California, garcia@history.ucsb.edu

TBA


  1. Manipulating Identity for Patriotism and Profit

Chair and Discussant: William Beezley, beezley@email.arizona.edu

“The Perfect Consumer: Gender and Popular Culture in Peronist Argentina” Natalia Milanesio, University of Houston, nmilanesio@uh.edu

“Double Agents in Contemporary Fictionalizations of the Conquest: Carmen Boullosa's ‘Duerme’,” James Gustafson, Southern University, gustafson@suu.edu

“Imagining Mexico in 1921: Visions of the Revolutionary State and Society in the Centennial Celebration in Mexico City,” Michael Gonzales, Northern Illinois University, gonzales@niu.edu

TBA
Friday Session IV 4:15-6:00


  1. Detectives and Drugs in Lyrics and Literature

Chair and Discussant: Michael Ward, Trinity University, Trinity University, mward@trinity.edu

“Un acercamiento a la mujer en el corrido,” Lee Daniel, Texas Christian University, l.daniel@tcu.edu

“El corrido: Una alternativea para el analisis del narcotráfico,” Roberto de la Torre, Independent Scholar, rdelatorreh@aol.com

“Corrupción, violencia, y complicidad en dos novelas detectivescas fronterizas: The Case Runner de Carlos Cisneros y Balas de Plata de Elmer Mendoza,” Ramiro Rea, University of Texas-Pan American, rrrea@utpa.edu

TBA


  1. Identifying the Marginalized: Race, Gender and Sexual Identity in Mexico

Chair and Discussant: Sharonah Fredrick, SUNY at Stony Brook, New York, sharazteca@yahoo.com

“Women Warriors and Cosmic Goddesses in Mexican Folklore - Writing Herstory,” Grisel Cano, Houston Community College System, grisel.cano@hccs.edu

“Mexico’s Machos and Maricones: History, Social Stigma, and the Struggle of Mestizo Homosexual,” Joshua Hyles, Baylor University, Joshua_Hyles@baylor.edu

“Colonial Mexico and Afromexicanidad,” Alicia Reyes-Barriéntez, Duke University, alicia.reyesbarrientez@gmail.com

“Convent Confessional: Agency and Fantasy in Latin American Hagiographic Writing,” Daniel Hoover, Baylor University, Daniel_Hoover@baylor.edu


  1. Hearth and Homeland: Food as a Way to Maintain and to Create Cultural Identity

Chair and Discussant: Nancy Noguera, Drew University, nnoguera@drew.edu

“Food and its meanings in New Jersey,” Nancy Noguera, Drew University, nnoguera@drew.edu

“Hole Mole: A Take on Mexican Cuisine in New York City,” Viviana Rangil, Skidmore College, vrangil@skidmore.edu

TBA


  1. Regional Political Strife and Consolidation in Mexican History

Chair and Discussant: Michael Smith, Oklahoma State University, Michael.m.smith@okstate.edu

“African Slaves in Veracruz, Early 1500s,” Veronica Nohemi Sandoval, University of Texas-Pan American, veronica_nd87@hotmail.com

“Economic Pressures and Democratization in Mexico,” Dale Story, University of Texas at Arlington, story@uta.edu

“The Departamento Confidencial’s Role in Centralizing Mexican Political Authority,” Joseph A. Stout, Oklahoma State University, bstout4@cox.net

A Fratricidal Foundation: Yucatecan Conflicts from Antiquity to 1821, Douglas Richmond, richmond@uta.edu
Saturday

Saturday Session I 9:00-10:45



  1. Bolivarian Echoes: Strong Men in the Casa de Gobierno

Chair and Discussant: Paul Hart, Texas State University, ph18@txstate.edu

David Robles, “General Díaz: Man of Vision,” University of Texas-Pan American, sinstereo83@aol.com

Tyler Talbert, “Men on Horseback and on the Balcony: Juan Domingo Perón and Hugo Chávez as Caudillos and Populists,” Baylor University, tyler_talbert@baylor.edu

TBA


  1. The Struggle for Acceptance on the South Texas Borderlands

Chair: Sonia Hernandez, University of Texas-Pan American, shernandez11@utpa.edu

Discussant: Jake Frederick, Lawrence University, jake.frederick@lawrence.edu

“The Conundrum of Race in Hidalgo County’s Petit Jury Selections, 1951-1954” Rene Rios, University of Texas-Pan American, renerios@msn.edu

“Swept South of the Border: The Repatriation of Mexicans and Mexican Americans in the Rio Grande Valley, 1929-1937,” Richard Tovar, University of Texas-Pan American, rtovarz3@broncs.utpa.edu



  1. Rebellion, Revolution, and Emigration: The Origins and Evolution of Mexican Nationalism

Chair and Discussant John Mason Hart, University of Houston, jhart@uh.edu

“Desde Tiempos Immemoriales,” Jamie Christy, University of Houston, dix409@yahoo.com

"Mexico flotante: Mexican Nationalism through the lens of 20th Century Migration," Natalie Garza, University of Houstonn,mgarza@mail.uh.edu

TBA
Saturday Session II 11:00-12:45



  1. Creating and Sustaining Nation

Chair and Discussant: Consuelo Navarro, Trinity (Washington) University, NavarroC@trinitydc.edu

“Pueblos fantasmas: Pedro Páramo y otras consecuencias de la [in]migración,” Pilar Melero, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, melerop@uww.edu

“La ciudad de Guayaquil como palimpsesto en El alma en los labios, de Raúl Vallejo,” Consuelo Navarro, Trinity (Washington) University, NavarroC@trinitydc.edu

TBA


  1. Science-Fiction in Latin American Fiction

Chair and Discussant: Elizabeth Willingham, Baylor University, Beth_Willingham@baylor.edu

“Utopía, distopías y fronteras: los espacios de la ciencia ficción mexiana,” Guadalupe Cortina, University of Texas-Pan American, gcortina@utpa.edu

“From Non-fiction to Science-Fiction: The Imagining of Post-America,” Mary Fanelli Ayala, Eastern New Mexico University, mary.ayala@enmu.edu

TBA


  1. TBA


La base de datos está protegida por derechos de autor ©espanito.com 2016
enviar mensaje